The Adventures of Naughty Miss Jones

'cos naughty miss jones knows vibrators. Visit me at http://www.naughtymissjones.com.au

Miley

Poor little Miley Cyrus has been copping a lot of flack this past month. Even the inventor of the giant foam hand (clearly one of modern societys greatest minds) has publicly had a go, claiming Miley degraded the ‘icon’ that is the giant foam hand through her on stage antics at the VMA awards last month. Other blog entries and articles I have read have claimed Miley has gone ‘off the rails’  and is ‘spiraling out of control’ and, worse still, that she doesn’t look as good now she has chopped off her locks and is apparently ‘pulling a Britney’.

Clearly, there are a lot of people out there with WAY too much time on their hands.

Yes, I get it. The whole foam hand thing wasn’t exactly the classiest performance. Similarly, riding a giant wrecking ball completely neked (bar some big boots and hot red lippy) isn’t something I could imagine, say, Kate Middleton doing. But amongst all the criticism and carry on aimed at poor Miley, the world seems to be forgetting one major thing.

The girl is twenty-one years old.

Show me a lady who didn’t do some silly attention grabbing things at that age, who didn’t make a couple of mistakes on the path to ‘sexual discovery’ or who didn’t experiment with their looks at least once, and I’ll show you a liar. I know I did all 3, multiple times. And as a result, I’m choosing not to judge. Glass houses and all that.

The fact that she’s a celebrity shouldn’t make any difference. The girl was born to an achy breaky family and shoved into the spot light from a young age. My stage for attention grabbing antics at that age? The podium on the dance floor at Fusion (or Hunters, but even ‘open book’ me doesn’t like to admit to having set foot in that place). Had someone given me an actual stage to act all sexy in my short dress, stripper heels and ‘body glitter next to the eye’ ensemble, and hells yes I would have taken it. And I reckon at least 90% of my lovely ladies would have, too.

At 21, we are meant to make mistakes and learn from them. At 21, we don’t really know ourselves or where we fit in. We’re still figuring it all out. And those older than 21 (but who have nonetheless been 21), should understand that.

The inventor of the giant foam hand summed it up when he said his product ‘would survive this scandal’. I’m pretty sure, with all due respect sir, Miley will too. I know I survived all mine.

Naughty Miss Jones xx

Leave a Reply

